Tribute to Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam

One evening I was just scrolling down to my Facebook page and I suddenly stopped at a picture of Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam which had a garland on it. It left me stunned. I searched on all the online news portals and saw no reference for the same. That picture definitely disturbed me but I took a sigh of relief as it wasn’t true. Just another internet hoax.

How often do we connect ourselves to a person whom we’ve never met, talked or even heard? I never thought I ever would until I read about him in his autobiography. A journey from what he was, what he wanted to become and how he ended up being that. I am not an avid reader but Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam was the first person whose autobiography,’Wings on Fire’ I got issues from the library & finished reading. The only autobiography I’ve ever read. Probably, this quality of him made him a great teacher. I often read quotes on varied topics and his writings were not less than motivating and inspiring.

I’ve always said that whatever good I bring to this world or to anyone would be because of my great teachers. I owe all that goodness, kindness, the knowledge they have imparted in me, which has made me the person I am today. Though I never questioned them as to what unique quality they see in me and what will I be in 10 or 20 years down the line. But as Dr. Kalam said, I also firmly believe in his belief that, the 3 key societal members who can bring in the difference in a person and the Nation are A Father, A Mother and A Teacher.

The best way I can pay you a tribute Dr. Kalam would be to follow the path which leads to making my dreams come true; by putting my heart and soul in it. Examples are many where you proved yourself to be a great teacher to your students simply by understanding that every child is unique and world around them is trying all means to make them look like everybody else. Give them wings and see them fly. Your sayings and beliefs on writing, poetry, nation, education, youth and what not have been an inspiration and a vast source of motivation. For you sky was never a limit, your knowledge and teachings passed beyond that. The sky now has a silver lining to mark his presence.

Though I don’t remember how good I am being a friend. As I did not bunk classes much but rather enjoyed thoroughly in the class only or while being punished. Those memories with friends still make me laugh a lot and they will; for years to come. Though I still don’t know what I’ll be remembered for; I have asked the same question to my friend too. But I know if the answer has not satisfied me, I am not there yet 🙂

Our dreams speak to us. All we need to do is listen to them and follow that path. Difficulties cannot stop you because your dreams are bigger and stronger than them. The voices echo all around us, your dreams is calling you by your name.

In my words…

An epitome of greatness that you bestow,
The humble and kind soul that you hold,
For all that you gave will be cherished forever,
As the missile flies and ignites us all.

Leave a reply

